Knightmare Arcanist by Shami Stovall

EYibC4aWoAIlHxy

Our protagonist Volke is excited about joining the rest of the Island to watch phoenixes bond which happens every ten years. Volke wants to be the chosen one because arcanists are the most influential people in society. 

During the bonding Volke does one of the most daring things and unexpectedly joins in on the competition to be the Arcanist. His clear disadvantage in life leads to him being bullied off the stage. 

After some trouble Volke and Illia (Volke’s best friend) finally become arcanists. To be an arcanist they must train in different cities and eventually travel the world. The idea of leaving the island, even though he has spent his life dreaming of it gives Volke anxiety. 

As this book is about mythical creatures readers like me who don’t usually read this genre may feel a little out of touch, or maybe out of our depth would be a better way of describing it. However, as the character development starts and we witness how much Volke wants to become an arcanist we begin to form a connection with him. 

I’m excited to find out how Volke overcomes these emotions and how being an arcanist assists him in doing so. I wonder how I will interpret this and apply it to my own life (this is a common trait for a reader right? aha). 

Okay, so I’m halfway through the book and so far it’s been interesting. I know which characters I like and which I dislike (Zaxis). The book has been steady in terms of storyline but I just hit a major plot-twist. I’m in a state of shock and excitement. I would say this plot-twist has taken my interest levels from 6/10 to 10/10. This will definitely change the course of things for Volke and many others. 

Spoiler alert 

In this half of the blog I will be giving away more spoilers so enter at your own risk aha. 

Once I find out that Ruma killed Luthair’s previous arcanist I was left a bit confused. The bad guy went from being Zaxis to Ruma who is Volke’s role model. Like Volke, I also had doubts on how true this could be and if it was true, how Volke would fight against the strongest arcanist in the world. 

As the story continues we get to know Zelfree and have the chance to compare Ruma and Zelfree. Because Zelfree’s character is a drunk, someone who turns up late or doesn’t show up at all this started to plant the seed of doubt in my mind. All along while he was acting shady it was Ruma who was looking after his apprentices so this made me feel like maybe Luthair was wrong or mistaking the killer of his previous arcanist. 

What really made me believe this was finding out about Zelfree’s ability to impersonate. As soon as I read that I thought that Zelfree had impersonated Ruma and killed Luthiar’s previous arcanist. 

Spoiler over

I don’t want to rewrite the book or give too many spoilers away so I’ll end the spoilers there. 

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. As the reader, you can tell that this book is part of a sequel because there are questions that are left unanswered. 

When I finished the book I was really surprised by how invested I was in the character development and the events that happen. I have no doubt that Volke will go on to fulfil his dreams. I think him and some of the other male characters may clash however they will be a powerful duo in the end. I have no idea who his heart will pick in the end or what will happen to the love affairs but I have a feeling that the author may give us a major plot twist there also because the one in this book was just out of this world. 

 

Leave a comment